Rushing Things

There is not one good thing you will get by always rushing things.

Nada Zafira
3 min readJun 15, 2024
Photo by Konstantin on Unsplash

Are you the type of person who always want to rush things? Want to get something in an instant? Well, I was, and I think that there is no point of being in a rush, it is better to learn how to wait and enjoy every moment you have now while waiting for something that you truly wanted.

I used to always rushing things. I always wanted to do it as fast as possible. When I was a student, I always make sure I finish the task before the deadline. When I am at work, I always make sure I finish my work long before the deadline, just so I could do the other works.

I always walk fast like I have a lot of things to do. I always make sure that all of my goals could be achieved in a short time. When it come to relationship, I used to always want to immediately in a relationship before I even get to know more about them. As long as they are kind to me and giving me the love I needed, I want to be in a relationship with them without considering about the vision and what I really wanted from a relationship.

There is two things that I realized after twenty five years of always wanting to rush things, that is what I got is only pain and despair.

Rushing to achieve my goals only lead me to become hopeless when I couldn’t achieve it at the time that I have set. When I couldn’t achieve it at the time that I have set, I feel like it is the end of my life , I feel like a failure. I thought that if I couldn’t achieve it now then I couldn’t achieve it in another time.

Rushing to get in a relationship before I get to know the person, or before I knew that we have common goals only lead me into pain. Immediately fall in love with someone without knowing who they truly are or knowing if we both have the same vision in life only lead into heart break, there is not even one good thing by being in a rush in relationship, but pain.

For twenty five years of always live in a rush. I ended up tired of it. There is not one good thing I got for always being in a rush, it only lead me into pain and despair, and I decided to not want to be like that anymore. I don’t want to be in a rush anymore.

It’s good for being in a rush to finish work or doing task, but when it comes to relationship and goals… I should be patient.

I decided to take everything slow now.

I decided to get to know the person I am dating with before truly commited to them. I decided to not wanting to achieve my goals in an instant, and choose to be patient.

I decided to be patient. I decided to have the belief that everything that is meant for me is never go missing, it will come to me, and nobody will take it from me.

Learning how to wait is hard especially after living twenty five years of always in a rush. It takes time. At first I start by having the beliefe that what ever that is for me will always come to me and nobody going to take it, even if that things takes longer, I will get it. The second is I learn to enjoy the time that I have now while waiting to get something that I wanted by making a lot of list of something that I could do. By doing this, I don’t have to worry about my goals, I just focused on preparing myself before I finally get what I wanted, and now my life now feel times better.

--

--