We Are Just A Body With A Stack Of Memories

What we are is all the people we have met before.

Nada Zafira
2 min readApr 29, 2023
Photo by CHUTTERSNAP on Unsplash

As I got older, I started to think perhaps human is just a body with a stack of memories. We live everyday making memories and carrying our memories with us. Day by day, as we get older, the memories are piled up and then slowly the memories we remember the most changed us.

After I try to recall all the memories I had, I realize that my past shaped me for who I am today. My memories or my past, everything I have experienced in the past not only shaped me for who I am today but also changed my prespective on some things — like love, friendship, connection, life, etc.

The memories I had with my classmate in elementary school who bullied me made me don’t want to be friend with anyone unless I know that we have a lot of things in common. The memories I had with some people I used to call a friend who betrayed me made me don’t want to trust anyone unless I knew that they are genuinely considered me as their close friend.

The memories I had with someone I used to give my love and affection to made me don’t want to have any relationship with any man unless I know that we are really compatible and have the same goals. I realize that my love for them was always genuine and I have to be careful with who I gave my heart to because not all people are genuine.

Everyday I live in the present carrying the memories I had with some people who is no longer in my life. And now everytime I get close to someone, I also wonder what kind of memories they are carrying that made them who they are right now.

When I get close with someone, I don’t care about their taste in music or film, their political view, or anything that only tell them about who they are on the surface. Now all I care about is how was their childhood, how was their relationship with their past lovers, how was their relationship with their friends, what kind of job they used to had, what kind of place they used to go, and anything about their past.

Because memories, the past, it will reveal a lot about who we are.

--

--